on an industry basis but together provide general coverage for most employees in the province. The British Columbia board issues a separate order for each industry or occupation. In the other provinces, minimum wage boards issue general orders, supplemented by special orders in some cases.

Hours of Work.—Five provinces have general hours-of-work laws. Those of Ontario, Alberta and British Columbia set limits on hours of work. Hours are limited in Alberta and British Columbia to eight a day and 44 a week, and in Ontario to eight a day and 48 a week. The Manitoba and Saskatchewan Acts regulate hours through the requirement that one and one half times the regular rate must be paid if work is continued after specified limits. The Manitoba law requires payment of the overtime rate after eight and 48 hours for men and eight and 44 hours for women. The Saskatchewan Act requires payment of the overtime rate after eight and 44 hours. Some exceptions are provided for in all five Acts. Hours of work are regulated for particular classes of workers or for some industries in all provinces under other legislation.

Regulation of Wages and Hours in Certain Industries.—Industrial standards legislation is in effect in Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Ontario, Saskatchewan and Alberta. These laws provide that a schedule of wage rates and hours of work agreed upon by a representative group of employees and employers in an industry or trade may, upon approval by the government, be given statutory effect by Order in Council, and so become the minimum terms of employment for the entire industry or trade in the area. An advisory committee, usually equally representative of employers and employees, is established to assist in enforcing a schedule. This legislation is used fairly extensively in the building trades, the clothing industries, barbering and a few other industries. In Newfoundland, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick schedules have been issued only for certain construction trades in some areas. In Ontario, schedules for the garment trades, the fur industry and the hard furniture industry apply throughout the province and a substantial number of schedules apply to various construction trades and to barbering in specified areas.

Under the Quebec Collective Agreement Act, certain terms of a collective agreement, including those dealing with hours and wages, may be made binding on all employers and employees in the industry concerned in a defined area, provided the parties to the agreement represent a sufficient proportion of the industry. The standards made binding under this procedure are contained in a decree, which has the force of law. Approximately 100 decrees applying to construction, manufacturing, barbering and hairdressing, commercial establishments, and other industries and services are in effect, covering close to 250,000 employees. Of these decrees, 15 apply throughout the province.

The Construction Industry Wages Act in Manitoba provides for the setting of minimum rates of wages and maximum hours of work at regular rates for employees in the construction industry, on the recommendations of a board equally representative of employers and employees, with a public member as chairman. Under this Act, annual schedules set the regular work week and hourly rates of wages for various classifications of workers in the heavy construction industry, the Greater Winnipeg building construction industry, and in rural building construction.

Annual Vacations and Public Holidays.—All provinces except Newfoundland and Prince Edward Island have annual vacations legislation applicable to most industries. In Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Quebec, workers are entitled to a vacation with pay of one week after a year of service; in Ontario, workers are entitled to a vacation of one week after each of the first three years of employment, and of two weeks after the fourth and each subsequent year. In the four western provinces, the annual paid vacation required by law is two weeks and, in Saskatchewan, three weeks after five years service.

The Provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Nova Scotia and Saskatchewan have enacted legislation of general application dealing with public holidays. The number of holidays named varies from five to eight, and the provisions for payment also vary.